Myra Lee

2004-11-24 - 10:12 a.m.

Time, it is a� flying by, no?

The last few weeks have been a blur, mostly not the delightful variety of blur.

I did help my brother move in with his special lady. They moved into a bright, beautiful place in Carthay, one of my favorite neighborhoods in L.A. Now my brother can walk to work on the Miracle Mile. Isn�t that dreamy? Unfortunately, he is a collector of craptastical objects, and moving mostly involved asking, "Are the 4,000 Pez dispensers going in the e-Bay pile?" and "What about the ukulele?" and "Are you going to keep all 15 Rubik�s Cubes?" And then there was the part where we accidentally moved two giant couches into the living room and couldn�t get out of the apartment. The door was impossibly blocked, and I thought we might all meet our maker in that lovely room. We didn�t, though.

I did see The Life Aquatic at the Egyptian, but Wes Anderson was waylaid in NY and could not deliver the promised Q&A. When this announcement was made, there was a lot of boo-ing and surly remarks. Someone in my row yelled "BAIT AND SWITCH!" We Wes Anderson fans don�t take kindly to trickery. Anyway, the film was great. I absolutely love Bill Murray. Rushmore is still my favorite. I won�t say more, since I�m no spoiler. Speaking of spoilers, my friend Tony Joe stepped in dog shit on the way to the theater, and I can�t remember the last time I laughed so hard. My stomach was sore the next day. Isn�t it great when your friends step in crap?!

Last week I had to give many presentations in the workplace. It was basically a long, boring show-and-tell session that lasted all week. I had to talk so much, I started losing my voice. One would think I would�ve settled into my presenter role, but I never got comfortable and I kept using weird, inappropriate words, such as "flibbertigibbet." That�s right, I said "flibbertigibbet" in front of a herd of sales people in a corporate boardroom. The context in which I used this word is even worse. I was asked, "What�s the demographic on that SKU?" And I replied, "Oh, you know, your average busy-yet-flighty 20-something flibbertigibbet." Puzzled stares.

Tomorrow we�re attending two different Thanksgiving dinners. And Sunday I�m doing a third Thanksgiving with my dad, his crazy ladyfriend, my brother, his chiqutita, and, of course, Erik. This will be my first independently cooked and hosted Thanksgiving dinner, and I�m already nervous. I'm following a bunch of the Queer Eye recipes. There will be a lot of items cooked in bourbon. You can�t go wrong with cooking items in bourbon, can you? Don�t answer that.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria