Myra Lee

2003-03-06 - 11:24 a.m.

I decided to follow the lead of Seattle�s best (and BS Employee) and am making a list of 100 things about myself�

1. I like the smell of diesel because it reminds me of my childhood. When I was six, my dad bought an old school bus and converted it into a motor home. We took several trips across the country in it.

2. My sixth grade graduation program says that when I grow up I want to attend Julliard School of Music and become a film score composer.

3. I don�t like the desert. I fancy myself a mountain momma.

4. Two books I could read over and over are: "Owls Do Cry" by Janet Frame and "To the Lighthouse" by Virginia Woolf.

5. I recently decided that my beloved cat resembles Jude Law. Yes, Mr. Blue is just that handsome.

6. I�m very inspired by my friend Livia. She�s from Mexico. She�s an artist and an adventurer, and her life is always interesting. Right now she lives in Manhattan and is having her first book of her photography published. It�s brilliant.

7. The other night I worked out a cover of "When You Were Mine" (playing piano and singing), and I thought it sounded pretty good.

8. I used to play in a band, and I really miss it.

9. When I was nine, my dad came down with a debilitating muscle disease. It gets worse every year, and now he walks with a cane.

10. I subscribe to the New Yorker and Magnet. If I had more money and a lot more time, I�d subscribe to McSweeny�s, No Depression, Adbusters, Harper�s, National Geographic, and Giant Robot.

11. I love to travel. When I was 19, I did a semester in Florence and had the time of my life. I have not done much travelling at all lately.

12. Lately I�ve been having a hard time remembering that life is not a race.

13. A few of my favorite things about living in Long Beach is that I drive along the ocean everyday, I love seeing the Queen Mary and Catalina Island, and the LBC has the best record store (Fingerprints) �round these parts.

14. I love food, almost all food. I�m a pretty good cook, but I wish I cooked more. And I�d like to learn how to cook sushi.

15. The last book I read was "The Corrections." It really made me think about how Americans are obsessed with mental health. I was already thinking about this because a lot of my friends have been getting on the Antidepressant Peace Train, and I�m not sure how I feel about that train.

Wow, that took me a while. I�ll have to start up again later. I have to read this exciting article right now.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria