Myra Lee

2006-04-03 - 2:21 p.m.

A few months ago, an �Irish pub� opened up around the corner from us. It�s pretty cheesy, but it's about 100 paces from our front door. So, we have been doing our part to keep the place in business. A friend of mine (Valentine) recently learned that this pub has a fantastic Sunday brunch that involves bottomless mimosas. When Valentine told me about this, she sang the word �bottomless� triumphantly. This has become our fight song.

Valentine is a new(ish) friend of ours. She gathers with us for Wednesday night tee-vee viewings and has really grown on me. It�s pretty rare to find nice ladyfriends who share a similar warped sense of humor.

Yesterday at Bottomless Brunch, we were out on the patio and someone walked by with a puppy. This led to a conversation about how puppies are cute. I shared that I sometimes go to pet stores just to hold puppies. Valentine said she�s done the same. Then Valentine�s boyfriend chimed in with, �You girls are really just longing to have babies.� I said, �No, not really.� He said, �Yes, you certainly are.� I said, �No, actually I wish I could just give birth to a puppy.� And Valentine said, �That�s so weird. I was just wishing I could give birth to a squirrel!�


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria