Myra Lee

2003-03-24 - 1:11 p.m.

Why are weekends so short!? I have a case of the Mondays.

I went to see a play like a good little English major. Every time I see a play at South Coast Repertory, I fall in love with the handsome gay men they�re so fond of casting. I saw "Two Gentlemen of Verona" set in the 50�s. It was really well done and entertaining. I�m glad I went.

Yesterday Erik and I fled the smog and went hiking together. We hiked up to a waterfall in Trabucco Canyon. Driving back down into the hazy cloud of So Cal is always disheartening. I can�t believe we Southern Californians breathe that air! I thought of Death Cab�s ode to Los Angeles�and i can't see why you'd want to live here. i'm in los angeles today: asked a gas station employee if he ever had trouble breathing and he said "it varies from season to season, kid."�it's a lovely summer's day and i can almost see a skyline through a thickening shroud of egos. is this the city of angels or demons? Oh, come on Ben! Who needs clean air?

And while I�m fessing up to being a shameless Southern Californian, I have a new cell phone. I feel like the Notorious B.I.G. when I use it. It�s fancy.

I was going to go see the Be Good Tanyas last night at The Derby, but I got the Sunday Night Blues and stayed home drinking wine, polishing my toenails, and watching the Academy Awards�.

Here�s an example of why I love my brother: He was coerced into going to some Los Angeles "singles party." I just e-mailed him to ask how it went, and he replied, "It was what I expected: a lot of farty nonsense."

He and I have a facial expression that�s our secret code for farty nonsense. We often make this expression to each other over holiday dinners with our WASPy cousins. It�s nice to have a comrade amidst the farty nonsense of the world.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria