Myra Lee

2003-03-17 - 10:58 a.m.

What a lovely weekend I just had!

It commenced with Friday night dancing at The Good Foot. Although we had a grand time shaking out money makers, I�m always traumatized by the enormous mirror that borders the dance floor. Just when I think I�m dancing well enough to be on Soul Train, I look over and realize that I�m just doing my same ol� side-to-side Belinda Carlisle step. I�d prefer to not know how ridiculous I look. And I know I could just ignore the mirror�but I just can�t.

Saturday was the rainiest day So Cal has seen in years. It was heavenly. I lazed about, watched terrible television, read a terrible book, went to the bookstore, and saw Laurel Canyon. The movie was enjoyable, despite its horribly clich� characters. It was fun to watch Lou Barlow hover in the background, playing the silent role of Bass Player in Brit Rock Band. And my friend was an extra in one of the pool scenes. She hadn�t told me she was even in the movie, but there she was having a chicken fight on the big screen. I heart Frances McDormand.

I was looking forward to seeing a Miles of Music guy - Kip Boardman - on Saturday evening. Unfortunately, I got the date wrong. He�s playing next Saturday. So I drove to Taix in L.A. in the pouring rain to watch a band called Anus. My brother met me there and was actually excited that Anus was playing. He�d "heard good things about them." I don�t have any good things to say about Anus. Here�s a glimpse into the lyrical stylings of Anus: "Forget about the moon, we�re gonna rock it to Uranus!" Har, har, har.

I spent all day Sunday recovering from the hysterical laughter that Anus inspired. No, not really. Hmmm, now that I�m thinking about it, my weekend really wasn�t all that lovely. I want a do-over.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria