Myra Lee

2003-04-23 - 12:33 a.m.

I bought my ticket to Vancouver and am counting the days until I make the great escape! It�s going to be so good to get out of town and visit a place that�s essentially brand new. [I should retract the GFE (Gross Factual Error) from my last entry in which I thought I was eight in 1986. I was ten. Numbers are hard.] Despite my frequent yapping about how beautiful the Pacific Northwest is, I wasn't really thinking about how beautiful Vancouver is. I've been looking at photos online and falling in love. Then there�s the part where Erik�s work might send him to Spain in June (!)�but I don't want to get my hopes up. He won't know if for another week or two.

I had a very fun weekend, which included a birthday party for my brother. His work pal (who has the coolest little house up in the hills of Echo Park) threw it. Here�s an excerpt from the invite:

Because Charlize Theron couldn't make it, you are cordially invited to the FIRST EVER National Whitey Appreciation Day (Known in some parts of the world as Chris' belated Birthday Fest. Known in other parts of the world as N-WAD. Ask your mom...) To celebrate such a momentous occasion, a generous Mexican family has agreed to open their home and properly thank Uncle Whitey for such wonderful and life-enriching contributions to their lives such as:

- Teaching us how to eat artichokes

- Illustrating the correct way to paint a windowsill to cover ugly old paint (apparently this takes longer than five minutes)

- The qualities of a fine root beer

- The miracle of accurately-aimed sprinklers�no more surprise attacks!

- How to properly unclog hair out of sinks

But the biggest reason to honor our dear Caucasian friend: maybe if you're nice to him he'll fix YOUR sprinklers!

This Mexican family was indeed very generous and provided Boca sausages, Twinkies, top-shelf whiskey, Nascar serving vessels, and much more. I love my brother�s coworkers. They all have a hearty spirit of irreverence and love hurling insults at one another. It�s refreshing.

In other news, I've gotten a bit obsessive with Netflix and have 96 movies queued. Also, I was decadent and treated myself to a lavish Saturday morning hair-coloring experience at Sanctuary - a punk-rock-ish swell lil' expensive (for me) Aveda-only salon in a cute, old purple house in Long Beach. I would say it�s luxurious, but I think Bobby Trendy owns the rights to that word now.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria