Myra Lee

2007-03-07 - 10:42 a.m.

Well, shucks. I got second place in the mootness. Oh, the mootness. It's still supposed to be an honor to get second place, but it feels awfully bittersweet. Afterward, we had to attend a dinner with the judges and various zillionaire donors at a strange wood-paneled establishment downtown. It was one of those ancient exclusive places where the dark rulers of the universe congregate and smoke pipes (which they light with $100 bills) and drink mead out of human skulls. You know those places? Us youth escaped as soon as we could and ran down the street to a bar (still wearing our suits), where Drew Barrymore was canoodling with a cute boy I didn't recognize. I bet she thought we were super important, us suit-wearing folks. Actually, she probably wanted us to do her taxes.

At the dinner, the elders got loaded. Loaded! I guess that's how the dark lords of the universe roll. In speaking to one of the state supreme court judges, I mentioned that I met my husband playing in a band. When she asked what we played, I told her he played the bass. She asked, "What's that?" I do not kid.

We're leaving for Amsterdam this Friday. Friday is two days away. Are we prepared? No, we are not. We've decided to play most of the trip by ear. Should we go to Paris or Copenhagen? We speak Spanish and German, so the language spoken in either destination is not a factor in this decision. I've been to Paris, but Erik has not. Neither of us has been to Copenhagen. I hear it's neat.

Life is really, truly awesome these days. Even if I'm second place in mootness.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria