Myra Lee

2008-12-21 - 1:20 a.m.

Today was a lucky day.

First, at The Container Store, I opted to participate in a bow-making demonstration. Three steps in, I got discouraged, given my ability to fuck up any craft. But erik stepped in and saved the day, producing a truly glorious bow. All four bow-making-demonstration participants were entered in a raffle to win a $25 gift card, and those 1 in 4 odds payed off. We won the raffle and went wild.

Then, tonight was erik's extended family Christmas party. His mom has five siblings, and each of those siblings had about 10 kids, and they all had 10 kids. I try to keep track, but at these mega-family functions, there's always a handful of people I don't know. Every year, there's a '12 days of Christmas' sing-along where we're made to break off into groups with our same birthday month. I'm a September birthday, and we're the most meager of groups. Historically, it's just been me, this very nice uncle man, and a small kid. The three of us have been responsible for shouting an anemic "nine ladies dancing." But this year an old man joined our September group. He approached and asked, "what do we have to say?" I told him, "nine ladies dancing." He looked me up and down and said, "how about one lady dancing and three guys
watching?"

See - lucky.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria