Myra Lee

2008-11-14 - 9:02 p.m.

So, I've had this crush on a girl attorney at my firm since I started in September. She transferred to the LA office from NY a few months before I started. We were set up for a lunch together on my first day, Blind Date style, and I liked her right away. She has cute, short-short red hair. And wears awesome orange nuevo Wallabies with Theory suits. She's from Maine. She has good art in her office, loves Bikram yoga, and does weird week-long juice fasts. (Really, they're weird. They're not your run-of-the-mill maple syrup/cayenne pepper/lemon juice fasts.) AND she's funny and self-deprecating. I was so excited. There are only a few young female associates at my office, and she seemed so my type. Usually you're stuck with the only slightly modernized Ally McBeal lady-lawyer types. But, despite my puppy love after our first lunch, we just never really talked again. Her office is FOUR DOORS down from mine, but it just didn't go anywhere, and I didn't want to be too obvious/spazzy about my excitement about her.

So, on the night of the election, we were both working late, heard the commotion at the Dem hq across the street, watched the poll results getting posted, and got to talking about how amazing it is that Obama is going to be our president. And now we're friends. And now I have just another thing to thank Obama for. Obama - uniter of nerdly girls too shy to start conversations!


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria