Myra Lee

2008-11-04 - 9:45 p.m.

Whoooo!!!!! We did it!!! I'm so proud to be American tonight.

I work across the street from LA's Democratic party HQ of the evening, which is hosting an election night gala tonight. But the gala turned into a celebratory rally/lovefest spilling over into the surrounding streets. As the clock ticked down to 8:00 p.m., when the California polls closed, the crowd counted down the final seconds and then went INSANE, as if Times Square on NYE. They had big screens showing Obama's acceptance speech. I was just down there among the crowds by myself (in hooker boots), not knowing anyone, having just heard the commotion from my office (where I was STUCK) and wanting to participate, knowing this is an amazing historic night that I will never, ever forget. Even though I didn't know anyone, it was an instant community, everyone with a hug or a high-five or an awfully nice smile. There was so much love. The cheering went on for a solid hour. I had tears streaming down my face. Then the riot police arrived and made us (those not attending the gala) leave. Yelling at us with bullhorns. Seriously? On the mean streets -- "Avenue of the Stars" -- of Century City?

I'm trying to decide if it's too late to go meet Erik at a friend's election party in Echo Park, which is sure to be full of more love and hugs and high-fives, this time not with strangers! Actually, my whole neighborhood is an election party/Prius rally right now. I love California, and I really hope we get this right.

To those of you who don't live in a constant Prius rally and devoted so much time to the campaign, I love you. You made this happen.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria