Myra Lee

2007-12-13 - 10:28 a.m.

I am really lagging on the studying front. I only have one real exam, so I can't really take it seriously.

I've been doing yoga almost every day, and boy what a difference! My whole body feels different. I can certainly see how people become yoga addicts. I'm heading down that road myself. It's a pretty expensive habit, though, so I'm going to have to pick up a bartending job or something.

I've also been forcing myself to run various distances because I signed up to run a half marathon in February. As I signed up a few weeks ago, I thought, "Now I have to train because I've paid $75," thinking I'd played an awfully clever trick on myself. And I guess I did, but I've been kicking myself ever since. Yesterday, during mile four, I experienced a sudden shooting pain in my hip. My god, I'm only 31. And I have hip pain.

Tonight is one of Erik's work Christmas parties. It's at Hollywood & Highland. Last year it was at the Friar's Club and featured a performance by an improv group. One of the performers was vaguely familiar and after twenty minutes of trying to figure out why, I realized it was Grace, Ed Rooney's secretary in Ferris Bueller's. Yay Grace!

We're in the process of selling all our CDs on Amazon. We've backed everything up on a hard drive that has a terabyte of storage space. A terabyte! Can you beat it? Anyway, I thought I didn't really have an emotional attachment to CDs anymore. I never play them, seeing as everything's on my iPod, and we use the Harmon/Kardon iPod player for our in-home audio experience. But as the CDs have been selling, I've been feeling many tinges of nostalgia as I package them up and send them off to their new homes. Especially with the old stuff. It's sorta like selling an old friend. And now there are all these gaping holes in the CD rack. I'm wondering if I was a little hasty when I declared, "Sure, fuck it. Let's sell them. I certainly don't want to have to move them ever again." Me and the hastiness.

Let's see, what else? Oh! I've caught nephew fever. When my brother and his lovely lady had a baby back in July, I was excited, but I was also sort of like, "Oh, OK. Here's another baby." But a couple months ago, something clicked, and I developed a fierce love for this baby, and now I'm a big ball hog whenever I can get access to him. I know the exact moment when it happened: I had him strapped into the Baby Bjorn and was dancing around my mom's living room to New Order Brotherhood (the child loves New Order), and I caught sight of his little face in a mirror and saw that he was laughing. And now I can't get enough.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria