Myra Lee

2007-11-17 - 12:48 a.m.

Hi! Just saw Neko Case at Disney Concert Hall with some old, great friends. Great show. She is lovely, and funny, and somehow has the ability to sing loudly and beautifully for almost two hours. We ran into several groups of friends we hadn’t seen in way too long, and I realized how much I miss people, even when I don’t actively think about how I’m missing them.

Then we went to Cobras & Matadors, which is the best.

Our kickball team came in last place in the league, but we somehow got to play in the playoffs and beat the team we were paired with, and we’re now on our way to some sort of quarterfinals situation. We’re playing the Cagey Bees, and they all wear furry Russian hats and matching striped kneesocks. I think at least half of them received soccer-related scholarships to college, so it’s not a fair fight and we don’t really stand a chance against them.

A few weeks ago, we lost to a charming team called the Frolicaholics. They have loads of booze in the dugouts, and we (lovingly) refer to their team as “That Lousy Bunch of Drunks.” That being said, they beat us soundly. In his recap (submitted for the league newsletter), my husband said “No one has received such a savage drunken beatdown since Ike and Tina split up.”

Lately when I see pictures of myself, I realize I look old.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria