Myra Lee

2007-07-29 - 8:02 p.m.

Life is pretty much like summer camp these days. A really sweet and lovely summer camp. If it�s not picnic and a movie at Hollywood Forever cemetery, it�s shows at the Greek. Last week we went to four shows, four nights in a row, concluding, after a bit of finagling, with third-row seat at Sonic Youth! Woot! And since when are Sundays the best days? Sunday is now the best day. We go full-steam on Sundays, which are often filled with hiking Runyan Canyon and then Melrose flea market and then unlimited free drinks at Little Radio shows (which, sadly, have come to an end). And then delicious gelato and then more drinks at Malo. And as if life wasn�t awesome enough, Erik and I just got amazing new bikes! We just got back from a two-hour ride around Silverlake (which, in my humble opinion, is one of the most special places in this fine country). About these bikes: I have to say that after a lifetime of riding beach cruisers, this whole shifting business seems pretty complicated. Especially with all the hills �round these parts. I will be pretty pleased with myself if I haven�t catapulted my person over the handlebars by summer�s end.

On the summer job front: I love it. I feel absolutely certain I picked the right firm. Everyone seems genuinely nice, and the office has a much more laid-back vibe than anywhere else I interviewed. I�ve gotten a string of really interesting research assignments. The firm does a lot of pro bono stuff with the ACLU and other public-interest outfits. They�re also big into wind power (which may or may not be the wisest idea on the power front). They also have a lot of entertainment biz clients, including a number of unsavory hip hop figures. I�ve actually gotten some praise for my work, and that feels good. I�ve also gotten to eat at the finest restaurants the west side offers. And there have been parties at the Standard and nights at ridiculous houses. When I walk into my office on the seventeenth floor with an ocean view, exhausted and euphoric, I have to remind myself that all of this is real. I suspect that years from now when I look back on this summer, I will wonder if I dreamed all of this. The memories will be golden and glowy. But as for now, I�m just trying to savor every moment. It�s good to be alive. Good to be alive. I feel incredibly lucky.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria