Myra Lee

2006-03-25 - 7:37 p.m.

I did not get the job I really, really wanted. It was sort of a research assistant position with this brilliant Intellectual Property professor that USC appropriated from Berkeley. It was also a public-interest job that would've involved providing counsel for hard-up artists/writers/entrepreneurs/etc. (That's what I hope to eventually do with my law degree, so it would've been spectacular experience.) I got really far in the interviewing process, and the professor swears she really likes me and hopes I'll apply next time she has a spot. This news didn't soothe the sting of rejection. Apparently, she chose a former paralegal for the job because she thought the former paralegal would do a bang-up job of organizing her files.

On the bright side, I will be working in the legal department for the company that does American Id0l this summer! This was not a difficult position to procure, as my lovely and charming sister-in-law works there and is pals with their fancypants executive legal affairs guy. I fell in love with everyone I met there. They're a rowdy bunch. As I was taken around the office, a group of employees was assaulting a life-size cardboard cutout of Ryan Se@crest, and I had no choice but to join in the fun.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria