Myra Lee

2006-02-23 - 12:10 a.m.

Lately I feel so caught up in the whirl of life, I have very little inner life. People usually want to hear about the whirl, not the inner, so you get used to talking about that. You get chatty about gas mileage and beating traffic and real estate. It never seems to be the right time to interject with, �I�m lonely.�

I guess I�m not really lonely. I�ve certainly been lonelier. I just feel like everything is shifting. Two of my best friends are pregnant, both due in early summer, which is totally super-duper. These gals will be superb motherlies, but our lives will be very different very soon. I intend to put off the family-planning issue for a while, and these new motherlies probably won�t want to come over and drink and watch shitty television. I shouldn�t be so dramatic, considering Mrs. Poor Elvis (one of the expecting friends) recently showed me a layout of their new home-remodeling/garden-planning scheme. Included in the diagram was a greenhouse for Mr. Poor Elvis�s pot crop.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria