Myra Lee

2006-02-04 - 3:36 p.m.

More change is afoot. Erik and I are talking about moving to L.A. We�ll probably wait until he�s been at the new job for a while, but I am already all over Craigslist and Westside Rentals and what have you. I have mixed emotions about a move. We�re madly in love with our apartment. It�s big and bright, and we�ve spent a lot of time making it our home. Plus, all our friends live within a two-mile radius. Long Beach is a good place, and even though L.A. is only 20 or 30 minutes away, it might as well be a different country. People do not come visit. I remember this from having lived in L.A. for 10 months once upon a time. It was a lonely life up there. Of course, now I have my law school friends, but they�re not the same as normal friends. I love our friends so much, we might just stay here to stay close to everyone. I�m not going to worry about it for a while.

Tonight is a birthday party for Erik at EJ�s. Yay! He�s turning 35. Can you believe that sh*t? I have a very special secret birthday getaway planned for next weekend, although I suspect a friend drunkenly revealed the secret destination to Erik last week. Damn drunken friends! When I was grilling Erik to see if he knew, he swore he didn't. He even vowed to slash his car�s tires if he was lying. I hope he�s not lying because it will be a serious pain in the ass to get four new tires for the Death Star.

Last night, our friend Mr. Balmer surprised us and brought over a cake he�d baked from scratch. He put candles on it, and the two of us sang Happy Birthday to Erik in a very weird key. Then we all drank scotch and talked about the future and the past. I don�t know what�s cuter: the fact that Mr. Balmer baked Erik a cake or that he brought it in a deluxe Tupperware cake transporter.

Now I must go pick up the cake for this evening. I ordered a cake from a fancy bakery because I�m a doggone lousy wife. In my defense, I have an obnoxious paper due Monday morning, so I have no time to bake. Honest!


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria