Myra Lee

2005-08-01 - 10:19 a.m.

One week from now, I�ll be a plane heading to Puerta Vallarta for honeymoon bliss. At the moment, I feel no bliss. Only pain. My beautiful friends surprised me with a wine-tasting tour yesterday. I was taken from my home at 8:00 AM and put in a car and taken to our friend Janene�s house out in Wine Land. Janene lives on a ranch and trains horses. Yay horses. Yay wine. We had a gay old time, to be sure. It was a very thoughtful (and amazingly executed) surprise. I have the best friends in the solar system. I'm lucky.

After Wine Tour 2005, most of us headed to our friend Derrick�s going away party in downtown LB, where I tasted more wine. And then we tasted tequila, which probably wasn�t very prudent. I forgot about what happens when you engage in tequila tasting. Tequila + tasting = pain.

Last week I decided it would be a swell idea to make hot sauce for our wedding favors. I e-mailed my mom the recipe I was thinking about making, and within minutes dear old mom had punched some numbers and concluded we ought to multiply the recipe by 44 in order to make enough sauce to fill 130 bottles, and off she went to the Meximarket to purchase a trillion peppers and a vat of garlic for Sauce Party 2005, which occurred on Friday night. We gathered at her house and chopped our little hearts out. Now, my mom is a smart lady, but she�s no mathematician, and I suspect something went awry in her calculations. What we made isn�t really hot sauce�it�s some kind of sauce, and it�s delicious. But it�s sort of like Indian green curry sauce. Anyway, we made cute labels. Wanna see?



<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria