Myra Lee

2005-06-09 - 1:16 p.m.

Here is a workplace story: It�s 2:00 p.m. and I was just now released from a never-ending brainstorming meeting. We were charged with renovating each and every product the company has ever made. People like to get clever at these meetings and draw little sketches to demonstrate their ideas. (By "people," I mostly mean my Creative Director Lady.) At one point, she tried to draw her own hand placing a piece of paper in a file folder. It looked like an unidentifiable blob, but she was pleased.

I�m quite possibly the world�s worst artist, so I rarely get in on these sketchfests. But this morning we were trying to dream up a special packaging idea, something that would emphasize a pocket so that the darn pocket couldn�t possibly go unnoticed by the consumer. And suddenly it came to me! I shouted, "Guys! I�ve got it!" All eyes were on me, and I whipped out a blank sheet of paper. As my coworkers silently watched, I proceeded to draw a giant penis. I didn�t mean to. It was supposed to be a clever die-cut arrow thing. But it was clearly a penis. At first there was silence. Then Creative Director Lady looked displeased and said, "I don�t want to say what that looks like�" So, under the penis, I wrote, "POCKET". I almost wrote "INSERT", which would�ve been even worse.

It wasn�t my finest moment.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria