Myra Lee

2005-05-20 - 2:25 p.m.

Oh hell. Things really went awry at yesterday�s Operation Dress excursion. I accidentally fell in love with a dress that was way out of my budget. It happened so fast! I tried it on without looking at the price (big mistake) and then I loved it so much, I kept it on for quite a while (bigger mistake). Liliana and Katie were cheering, the designer (Mrs. St. Pucchi herself) was nodding approvingly, and I was pretty much decided on getting it. Then the "bargain basement" price was revealed. Let�s just say, it was $5,000 more than I wanted to spend. And it was half off. Mr. Salesman revealed the price by silently, smirkily showing me the display on his calculator, and my heart just sank. I kept counting the amount of numbers to the left of the decimal point. There were too many numbers to the left of the point. Three numbers = OK. Four numbers = heartbreak.

This is what heartbreak looks like:

Looking at the dress in this photo, it�s a little too Rock Me Amadeus for my tastes, but when I had it on, I didn�t feel at all Falco-like.

Anyway, I did purchase a dress, one with three digits to the left of the point. At this moment, I can�t even remember what it looks like. I know I brought the pain onto myself by not looking at price tags. I was kind of in a trance. I don't know what happened.

Tonight�s plans: Get together. Eat somewhere. Those are my favorite kinds of plans.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria