Myra Lee

2005-04-20 - 7:45 a.m.

There's a unit for rent in our building right now, and the hippies decided to create an eye-catching display to draw attention to the For Rent sign in the yard. The female hippie is out front right now arranging scores of giant palm fronds on the lawn. I do not kid; there are at least 50 palm fronds fanned out around the sign. This display is sure to entice oodles of classy renters!

I was feeling sad and lonely, missing Erik tonight. It feels like he's been gone forever. I'd had a few tentative plans for this evening, but they all fell through. Just when I was getting especially mopey, wandering around the apartment eating pickles, my friend Nikki called. Friends' bands are playing! For free! Up the street from here! Yay. Sometimes I don't want my life to change at all from the way it is now�a handful of great friends, all here in Long Beach. Wonderful, thoughtful, genuine people. Life is very good. And Erik comes home tomorrow.

It's the magic time of day right now�I can see the last pink glow of smoggy sunset over the rooftops. Oh! The hippies are watering the palm fronds!


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria