Myra Lee

2005-01-27 - 11:37 a.m.

Over the last couple of weeks, I�ve achieved a record of 0 for 5 in show attendance. It might be 0 for 6, I can�t remember. Last night we were supposed to meet friends at the Knitting Factory to see these lovely boys called Early Day Miners. But then I curled up on the couch with the Bob Dylan Chronicles, and it was over. And it was raining a little. And maybe it also had something to do with how I�m hooked on UPN�s latest offering. It�s so good! Anyway, Brandis managed to win tickets for the French Kicks show at the Troubador tonight, so we�re definitely going. Most definitely. If I can�t drag myself from my position of guarding the couch for a free show (of adorable boys) then I�m really a Loser. I�m a Loser anyway because Brandis and I agreed it was totally worth it to leave extra early to procure seats in the old folks section�a wonderful little balcony that only seats about 30 people. The rest of the place is standing room only, and the last couple of times I�ve been to the Troubador, I�ve not sat in the old folks section, and I�ve sorely regretted it. What has become of me? I�m not even 30 yet.

I�m sending a giant birthday parcel to my fancypants lawyer sister today. I don�t have her new home address, so I�m shipping it to her work. It�s covered in bad bootleg Hello Kitty art and Engrish treats. I hope she doesn�t lose face among the oil tycoons she works with.

Speaking of fancypants lawyering, this is a premature announcement, and I hope I don�t jinx myself by mentioning this: I got a pleasant letter from C0rnell Law School, basically saying they want me and might want to give me a fellowship. (!!!) (!!!) I�ve been looking at photos of the campus all morning, and it looks like Hogwarts. It also happens to be 3�Fahrenheit there right now. I don�t know if I could make it. They might find me frozen to death in the woods of Ithaca. I can just picture my name being added to a tally of thin-blooded Californians who perished while trying to run to class in flip flops in the dead of winter.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria