Myra Lee

2005-01-14 - 1:36 p.m.

A few nights ago, Brandis and I attended a very official baby shower planning meeting. The shower is for a friend of ours who will be giving birth in March, but we didn�t know the girl in charge of the planning. The girl in charge showed up with a big shower-planning folder and passed out an extensive outline listing all the duties that must be handled. To say she�s Type A doesn�t cover it. She�s a stern taskmaster, and we are her committee underlings. As soon as I saw that outline, I knew we were in trouble. Later I asked Brandis, "Do you think we were badly behaved?" And she said, "I don�t know. It�s hard to tell with us."

Morale in the workplace has reached an all-time low. A time clock was installed in the lobby yesterday, which really got the workers all aflutter. Understandably so. I'm feeling a little reckless and short tempered here, a bad combo. But as soon as I drive out of the parking lot and am free, the feeling leaves me. I just have an aversion to being treated like a child.

The weekend is so close I can taste it. And it tastes glorious. It tastes like Guinness and fish-n-chips and creme brulee with chocolate sauce. On Sunday, we�re going to see Bonnie "Prince" Billy at McCabe�s, only it�s billed as Superwolf. Well, OK.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria