Myra Lee

2004-11-08 - 4:00 p.m.

The weekend was lovely. I went to a cocktail party for Erik�s cousin�s birthday. It was an all-girl affair, and it was wonderfully girly and fun. There were so many delicious froofy martinis and fancy food items. And it was so refreshing to relax and talk about lighthearted nonsense rather than mourn the election results. These ladies are O.C. suburban housewives, and they�re not too keen on books or politics or the world beyond Orange County. Sometimes it�s nice to do nothing but chitchat about crappy TV, makeup, hair, shoes, Gael Garcia Bernal, recipes, etc.

I also saw The Incredibles, another nice retreat from post-election grief. I thought it was spectacular, and Sarah Vowell was perfect as Violet. Because I�m such a nerdy fan of hers, I felt like I was watching (well, hearing) a friend of mine perform her first role in a film. And I was darn proud.

I spent Sunday evening curled up watching a marathon of many saved-up hours of my new favorite show, Film School. Yay.

Today I got an e-mail from my mom that said: "I just received word that we have been assigned an international student from Yugoslavia (not sure which part of Yugoslavia) who is a student at Hope International University. I would like to invite her to join us for Thanksgiving dinner. Is this OK with you? The person who gave me her name (Azra) said she seems very fun and extroverted. You are definitely closer to her age, so I want to make sure you'd welcome her."
I forwarded this query on to Erik and he replied, "No f*cking way am I welcoming her. I can't stand those damn Yugos! Go back to your igloo, hippie!"


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria