Myra Lee

2004-08-04 - 12:50 p.m.

I am so dead. I am so dead. I�m 100% dead. Well, I�m more like 95% dead, and the other 5% is coming�

I made a huge mistake at work. A ginormous publishing blunder, one that I might snicker about in 20 years. But right now, I�m dead.

Want to know what the mistake was? Why, I�ll tell you!

I mistyped the company�s phone number in an e-mail to a licensor. I accidentally typed one little lousy wrong digit. And the wrong number I mistakenly typed turned out to be a phone sex number. And the product where the ad was placed happened to be geared toward young boys (ages 8-12). And there happen to be 20,000 of these ads printed and sitting on shelves in Wal*marts through the United States. And every single one of those 20,000 books says, "For more information, please contact [company name] at 1-800-yadda-yadda. And that number is a phone sex number.

Did I mention the company president is a super fundamentalist Christian?

In my defense, I was never given the ad to proofread. They went ahead and printed 70,000 frickin books without having us proofread our ad.

It�s not a very good defense. And that is why I�m dead.

I have never wanted the cloak of invisibility more than I want it right now.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria