Myra Lee

2004-07-08 - 10:54 a.m.

What I want, more than anything, is to get out of town this weekend and drive up to Big Sur. The feeling of leaving Southern California is a beautiful one. And Big Sur is one of my favoritest places ever!

Last weekend was a whirlwind of family obligations and birthday festivities. Highlights included:

� Watching Erik�s cousins� abso-frickin-lutely adorable children perform "The Bike Parade," which entailed the kids decorating their bikes with patriotic matter (with amazing flair, I should add) and riding in a circle in Aunt Margie�s cul de sac to the accompaniment of Neil Diamond's "Coming to America" blaring from a ghetto blaster placed atop Aunt Margie�s minivan.

� Celebrating Branderslice�s 32nd year on Earth at Bacchus Rooftop Dining. Fine food, fun people, good times. Oh, and wine!

� Seeing Before Sunset. Oh, how I loved it. I saw Before Sunrise twice in the theater at the tender age of 18, and it had quite an effect on me. It probably damaged me emotionally in the way Danielle Steel novels damage na�ve, bored housewives. I did a semester in Florence and backpacked solo around Europe soon after seeing that damn movie, and I swear I was just waiting (and waiting and waiting) for my own personal Before Sunrise to happen. The hours and hours of waiting expectantly in trains! I should�ve just enjoyed the scenery! Of course, love did find me, or a weird version of love�in the form of an odd, bald Argentinean man named Herman�who had one leg and ran a little pottery school near my apartment in Italy�I loved him in my own way.

� Hanging out with Erik�s parents. Have I mentioned how much I love them? I think I have. His mom is like no other mom I�ve ever been around. She�s so intelligent and thoughtful. And she loves to sit on patios and drink good beer with lemon. So we did that quite a lot.

There were more highlights, but I have loads of busywork to tend to�

Tonight will be fun�meeting up with friends at Ye Auld Dubliner, the new cornball Irish bar in downtown Long Beach where my pals Beth and Bella play the fiddle like nobody�s business. Here comes trouble�


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria