Myra Lee

2004-05-06 - 1:45 p.m.

Boy, the workplace is a real hoot today! We�ve got gossipy whispering about a girl who�s out for surgery on her hemorrhoids; we�ve got crying fits and lawsuits; my senior editor just explained to me that the cyst on her ovaries is so large, she "thinks the thing has teeth and fur." I�m not sure what she means by that. I wanted to ask, "Are you sure it�s not a chinchilla?" But it�s best not to encourage her.

Are all offices like this? Does every workplace have phases where it seems like everyone there is losing their minds?

Yesterday I was able to escape and go home sick, since my cold had progressed to the voice-like-Bea-Arthur stage. Today I�m stuck. Fortunately, there�s pie at 3:00. Hallelujah.

We ate lunch at a place called Mustard�s today. I can�t say that without laughing.

Mustard�s.

It�s so pretty outside�I just want to be out riding my bike, or reading a book on the beach, or sipping a margarita on a patio. I feel like a caged animal all cooped up in my silly little cubicle! Come on, pie...


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria