Myra Lee

2004-05-04 - 8:22 a.m.

I�m crazy from the heat. It�s been 100� every day here in So Cal, and I have a cold. Having a cold is never a treat, but being all congested and cotton-headed when it�s hotter than Hades outside is not my idea of summer fun.

But on the sunny side: The ol� dream company up in San Francisco contacted me for another freelance job. Hooray! Of course, I had promised myself that, should they contact me, I would ask for more money. Why is it so hard to ask for more money?! I�ve gotten used to being on the other end of it and telling artists/photographers/illustrators that I simply cannot offer more than my workplace�s meager rates. It shouldn�t be that hard to switch roles and request a few more pennies. (It really is pennies I�d be haggling over.) I�m just worried I�ll end up losing the gig if I stick up for myself. I need to remember my 2004 mantra: Chicken No More! Actually, it�s morphed into: Kill Your Timid Notion.

Another recent measure in my Kill Your Timid Notion Campaign: I did get up in front of a room of friends and strangers and perform. My dear, sweet friend Brandis had an open mic party. Since most everyone we know plays music, it was a chance for everyone to play music at each other. It was actually a b-day party for her husband, Johnny. Dear, sweet Brandis has a voice that�s like buttah, and she sang a Tom Waits song and a Bruce Springsteen song with Johnny backing her up on guitar. Erik and I played "When You Were Mine" slowed down to a dirge-like tempo. I didn�t do so well with killing the timidity. I was shaking and changed all the words. Oh well. It was a very fun party, and Brandis is the nicest, loveliest hostess in the Wild West.

Can I say one more thing about this cold? It�s the Marge-Simpson-voice-causing variety of cold. And I have to make some phone calls.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria