Myra Lee

2004-01-28 - 11:37 a.m.

I had surgery on my hand yesterday. The cyst has been extracted. It was quite an ordeal, much more of an ordeal than I could�ve imagined. Now I�m home sick from work, hopped up on Vicodin, only 20 pages away from finally finishing The Mandarins. I�ve known so many people over the years that have sung the praises of Vicodin, I expected it to be a Peyote-like experience. So far, I�ve had no hallucinations, just drowsiness. Am I supposed to mix it with something? Twelve kinds of cough syrup, perhaps?

A note on the anesthesia front: The last time I�d been �completely under� was when I was seven. The Good Lord saw fit to give me an extra tooth, and my dentist saw fit to remove it. But that was 20 years ago, so I didn�t remember how surreal it is to wake up from being anesthetized. I woke up saying, �My mouth must have been open! My mouth must�ve been open!� That wasn�t embarrassing. Not a bit.

Now my hand is wrapped in an enormous gauzy mitt. Did I mention it�s my right hand? And that I�m not left handed? And that I�m far from ambidextrous? It�s already driving me crazy. Even opening a box of crackers was difficult. I guess I always find opening boxes to be a bit of a challenge�but still. Away with you, gauzy mitt!

Fortunately, I have the most wonderful, spectacular boyfriend who took the day off work to drive me to the surgery, waited for several thousand hours, made several courses of comfort food last night, and watched America's Next Top Model with me. He even offered to take the day off today. He's the best. He's the one.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria