Myra Lee

2004-01-06 - 4:06 p.m.

Hanging on the outside of my cubicle wall there is a little declaration that my Senior Editor typed out and framed in a cheap plastic thing. It�s called "Editorial Credo." It�s so annoying. Why do we need a credo? Anyway, point number one of the Editorial Credo is: Exhilarate in the creative thrill of the project. Using "exhilarate" as a verb is kind of weird, no? And is corporate crap like this ever effective? Just now as I was filling out a FedEx form, I made sure I exhilarated in the creative thrill of that project. Then, as I typed up a calendar contract, believe me: all kinds of exhilarating. You should see me when I exhilarate.

So, I saw Lisa Germano last night. I adore her. Turns out, the show wasn�t at The Derby. Fortunately I figured that out before the show, unlike the time I dragged John and Little Spooky to the John Anson Ford Theater to see a Bright Eyes show that was actually at the Henry Fonda and got our car immediately locked up in stack parking so we had to take a cab across town, leaving the car behind. The funny thing about that particular mishap was that some ginormously popular Persian band was actually playing the John Anson Ford that night. As we were walking up to will call, people were all gussied in fur and heels and diamonds and lace. And I snidely remarked to Brandis, "Geez, these sure are some fancypants Bright Eyes fans."

So, Lisa Germano actually played at this cool restaurant in Los Feliz called Tangier. The room was small and dark and intimate and filled with pillows for sitting on the floor. I love seeing people play in small, dark, intimate settings. She just played a keyboard and sang. She played some new stuff, including one song that really moved me called "Oblivion." Another love song to alcohol. And she played "From a Shell," which is just one of my favorite songs ever.

Seeing her made me think about sincerity. I�m a fan of it.

Tonight I�m seeing Kristin Hersh with K.

Well, I�d better exhilarate now.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria