Myra Lee

2004-01-05 - 10:22 a.m.

How is that five days away from work sounded like an eternity five days ago? My to-do seems so ambitious, looking back. It included things like Hang chandelier, Paint bathroom, Wash car, Pick up Erik�s shirt from dry cleaner before they throw it away, Get facial. I didn�t do any of these things. I did see many a movie. Here are my feelings on the handful of movies I saw:

Monster: Whoa. I went into the theater with mixed expectations. I couldn�t help but wonder, "What�s the deal with gorgeous actresses making themselves hideous? Aren�t there enough talented homely actresses out there?" But Charlize Theron was so incredible. Her performance was harrowing. Quite a film.

Cold Mountain: Yay. I�m a Jude Law junkie. And Jack White. And I�m a sucker for heartwrenching historical epics. Quite a film.

Peter Pan: This would�ve been better if it was done with the cast of Trading Spaces. Think about it: Paige Davis as Tinkerbell, Doug as Captain Hook, maybe Genevieve as Wendy? Or should Wendy be played by Amy Wynn Pastor? Frank is a dead ringer for one of the pirates named Smee. Ty could be leader of the Lost Boys�

Paycheck: This would�ve been better if it was done with sock puppets. Really, this was just so terrible. I only saw it because we were on a mad moviehopping spree, and it was the only thing playing.

The House of Sand and Fog: This was a nice downer. It was just like the book.

My Life with Morrissey: What in the world?! How did this movie get made? Obviously it got made with a budget of $1000.

In addition to seeing movies, I spent quality time with friends and fam. This was - by far - the best New Year�s Eve I�ve ever had. I can�t remember the last time I went to a party attended by so many of my favorite people. My heart was so full of love. Some old friends (ex-bandmates, actually) hosted the shindig in their beautiful house. I experienced serious Homeowner Envy. They�ve done the most incredible job restoring this old bungalow in Long Beach. I�m tired of not having an old bungalow to call my own. If only I had $400,000 lying around. At least I have the iPod! It just selected "Honk if You're Lonely Tonight" by Silver Jews; it's making me want to do a little cowgirl shuffle right here in my cubicle. And at least I�m going to see my girlfriend, Lisa Germano, at the Derby tonight and Kristin Hersh w/Bernard Georges at the Silverlake Lounge tomorrow night. Hoorah!


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria