Myra Lee

2003-12-11 - 3:09 p.m.

Many thanks to nice people who signed the ol� guestbook with notes about my friend�s mom. With regards to how I feel helpless to do anything for my friend, another friend of ours (D.) has been doing all kinds of thoughtful things. D. has gotten our friend�s car smogged, paid her bills, called everyone who needs calling. D. is the kind of person I aspire to be. She�s effective. Did that make sense? That did not make sense.

Here are some things that make sense:

Tonight I�m meeting a funny friend for drinks at a swell new restaurant. (It�s across from South Coast Plaza, which is now a nationally known mall, thanks to The O.C.) I hear the drinks (and food) are very yummy and there�s a cozy patio with outdoor heaters. I�m really looking forward to bundling up (braving this 55�F weather) and sipping something delightful and chatting.

Tomorrow night I�m going to see Return of the King. Whoo hoo! Leave it to D. (above-mentioned effective friend) to get premiere tickets somehow (something about "the writer�s guild"). What is the Writer�s Guild? I should probably know, shouldn�t I.

Saturday is quadruple booked: an early-morning sample sale (I may be trampled by frenzied shopper ladies), beautification appointment at Sanctuary (I love Sanctuary, a swell salon in Long Beach in an old house where tattooed girls give you scalp massages and paraffin magic with The Clash as background music), Christmas tree purchasing and decorating, baking, shopping, wrapping, and the Naples Boat Parade (decorated boats on parade throughout the canals of Naples).

Sunday I�m going to a friend�s b-day party at the Hollywood Racetrack. They reserved a space in the VIP area, and formal dress is required. I�m excited. I may use the formal-attire-required thing as an excuse to purchase a certain sexy shawl that I�ve been visiting at Anthropologie. Sexy shawl sure is a funny pairing of words. I am a real fan of these friends. They�re very fun and positive and joyful. And independent. And entrepreneurial. And world travelers. And all kinds of good stuff. I�m putting my money on Galloping Galoot. Yeehaw.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria