Myra Lee

2003-11-13 - 12:33 a.m.

Well shoot. I didn�t write much since last weekend, and now the weekend is nigh here again. (Because, as everyone knows, the weekend begins on Thursday. And as not everyone knows, I get to leave at noon to do "market research!" In a job with very little gravy, market research days are like Thanksgiving dinner to me.)

All Tomorrow�s Parties was OK. It was poorly planned, poorly promoted, and didn�t have much of a turn-out, which is disappointing. I�m such a proud citizen of Long Beach; I always get excited when the city sees some love. It was pretty great to stand out on the harbor watching Mission of Burma. There were two stages: one outdoor stage on the water, and one indoor stage deep within the bowels of the Queen Mary. The bowel stage was adjacent to Boiler Room #5. It smelled like a roller rink from my youth, and Boiler Room #5 smelled like Pirates of the Caribbean. Although it was dank, I�m crossing my fingers that it becomes a legitimate venue. I could take The Passport and I pretend I live in a real city, which would be dreamy. And the sound wasn�t terrible. I mean, sure you couldn�t hear any instrument other than the bass during The American Analog Set. And sure the stage had three floors of open space above it, and the chattering crowd�s voices seemed amplified. OK, the sound was pretty terrible.

Speaking of pretending to live in a real city, I can see The Galaxy Towers from my desk in our new office-y room in our new apartment, where I happen to be sitting right now. Maybe I should play some sort of saxophone-y music to feel even more city-ish (instead of Nanang Tatang)? A little Glenn Frye? No, I�m loving this Nanang Tatang. So much.

Speaking of loving bands from the East Coast, here are some of my favorite photos from our trip to Boston:


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria