Myra Lee

2003-11-06 - 11:13 a.m.

Whoo-hoo! Look at this lineup! And on the Queen Mary, which is in my backyard! If only it was free. If only everything was free.

Last night, I went into a store at The Anti-Mall. I should�ve known better. It was one of those boutiquey stores that only has, like, four things in it. And I fell in love with a million-dollar sweater. But I resisted it, since I�m feeling especially poor these days. I�m also feeling especially unsuccessful. My mom called me the other day to tell me my cousin was promoted to VP of Marketing at his whoop-dee-do San Francisco job. He's now the Lord of the Khaki. And my sister is a hot-shot lawyer. I do have my own ideas about what defines "success," and I like to think I have my priorities in line. And I know it's never a good idea to start comparing yourself to other people. But I'm feeling pretty stagnant. And pretty poor. Boo hoo.

I talked to one of my roommates from Room 666 the other day. She biked from Vancouver to San Francisco last summer. I need a goal like that to shoot for. The marathon goal was too lofty, especially for a gal with tendonitus. And I can't talk anyone into hiking Half Dome with me. Maybe she'll want to do it again next summer?

Because I needed a lil' pick-me-up, I watched Julien Donkey Boy the other night, and I�ve had, "I�m a black albino straight from Alabama" going through my head ever since.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria