Myra Lee

2003-10-28 - 1:40 p.m.

Today Brandis and I went to El Torito for lunch, which is - I know - like going to the Olive Garden for "Italain food," but don�t start with me.

So, we went to El Torito, and there was quite a crowd of corporate folk clamoring for a taste of Chef Pepe�s REAL flavors of Guanajuato�or something. It was really busy. The hostesses all had that cornered animal look in their eye. Suddenly a woman in a billowing geometric-print smock whirled into the hostess area with an amazing amount of flair. She had about 50 barrettes and combs in her hair. She was on fire. I'm guessing she was the manager. As Brandis pointed out later, the woman made a lot of extra unnecessary gestures. She pulled the menus out of the cubbyhole with a sweeping toreador-like wave of her arm. She seemed to be spinning around as she handled the complicated tasks of calling names, matador menu waving, seating the guests, and such. If I knew more about such things, I might think she was tweaking.

When our turn came, she sat us down and said, "Joe�s going to be your waiter today. He�s a great guy. You�ll love him. He�s been having a rough time lately, but he recently recommitted himself." And then she hastened away, leaving Brandis and I to wonder, "What does that mean? Why has Joe been having a rough time lately? Is he backsliding? How has he recommitted himself? To what? Should we be nervous?"

And we�ll never know. Joe never came. A waiter named Larton eventually served us. And I must say Larton seemed to be having a rough time too, but I�m still curious about Joe. I hope he�s OK.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria