Myra Lee

2003-09-28 - 2:20 p.m.

I�m taking a tiny, tiny break from moving. (Don�t tell Erik. He�s upstairs painting.)

Moving always uncovers strange, forgotten objects. I think my favorite thing I�ve found today is a piece of paper that dropped out of an old college notebook. I guess I was about 22 when I wrote it. I�d made a list of phrases I wanted to incorporate into my vocabulary. Here is the list:

best bib and tucker

Fat City (meaning = state of contentment due to wealth and circumstance)

ferrett out

foggy bottom (meaning = double talk)

for shame

from the word go

full of beans

give the glad eye (meaning = a welcoming look)

go at it hammer and tongs

golf widow

go to bed with the chickens

harum-scarum

have kittens (meaning = get worried)

horsefeathers!

stew in one�s own juice

get your dander up (meaning = get mad)

itching palm (meaning = wish for money/greed)

know my own mind (meaning = be definite in plans, not waver)

life of Riley (meaning = a soft, easy way of life)

live high off the hog

mare�s nest(meaning = something that doesn�t exist)

name is mud

paddle one�s own canoe (meaning = work without help)

apple polisher (meaning = ass kisser)


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria