Myra Lee

2003-09-15 - 9:48 p.m.

Know who�s the sweetest friend I ever did have? Branderslice, that�s who. What an amazing person, that Branderslice.

Today is my birthday, and last night she threw me a b-day shindig in her homestead. And she put so much thought into each an every detail. So many yummy treats, special lights strung throughout the backyard, paper lanterns and candles in abundance, goat cheese/herb-injected tomato delights, delicious mousse cake, treats everywhere. So much care put into everything. Brandis and John are some of the nicest, most giving, most open people you�d ever hope to meet. I�ve never had a friend like Brander, so warm and thoughtful. I felt so loved.

Know why else I felt loved? Presents, plain and simple. The best kind of presents from friends who say, "We�ve been hunting for these goods for weeks!" Examples of thoughtful goods include a comic book entitled God�s Smugglers, Japanese stationery goods, bizarre Cambodian snacks (organs?) and Vietnamese rock band cassette tapes, a pig clock that grunts on the hour (this is a very frightening clock), and so much music! Music everywhere. Great, great music. I like the music.

There�s so much more I�d like to type about: Poor Elvis�s rip roarin� recording studio opening party on Friday; how much I loved Lost in Translation this morning (SO much!!) ; how entering Anthropologie (especially the Santa Monica one) makes me crazy with lust; how much I enjoyed talking with my 90-year-old grandmother tonight; how Erik and I are moving into the apartment upstairs; how excited I am about new paint colors; how we�ve named the weird add-on room with beamed ceilings "The Treehouse Room"; how great it is to have a symbolic fresh start in the form of a great new apartment; how Ginger�s friends came to my b-day hoo-ha and they�re such good folk; how the Bag Lady just stopped by to drop off a CD of photos of her gorgeous dj bags and caught me watching Sex and the City; how my brother and his ex-girlfriend (one of my closest friends, we all played in a band together, it�s messy) were so nice about coming to my b-day shenanigan in shifts; how life gets more and more complicated, but quality of life is all about quality of people, how much I love my friends. I can�t gush as much as I�d like to, but one more thing�

Know who�s the coolest? Red Dirt Mamasita, that�s who. She sent me a plethora of delights! Among the many magnificent (really thoughtful) treats was a BBQ Meat Funky Fresh Air Freshener. It�s in the shape of a bbq rib. It�s so right. Red Dirt Lady = hell of a gal.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria