Myra Lee

2003-07-29 - 10:39 a.m.

Oh dear. I�m a mess today. A mess with a hangover.

Last night was supposed to be an evening of sober productivity. Oops. Our old friend Corey called and said he was playing with a band at the Blue Caf�. I love summer evenings at the Blue. I especially love summer evenings at the Blue on honky tonk night during sudden downpours with thunder and lightning.

A band full of skinny bearded fellows was playing as we walked up, and - because I am clever - I said, "What is this? A Rumspringa convention?" See how clever I am?

We closed the place down, and I fell into bed at 2:30. I saw a lot of old friends, drank a lot of cheap wine, had a lot of conversation, most of which I can�t remember now. I do recall that a big tattooed man from Helsinki told me I looked like one of the Robert Palmer girls. (I haven�t gotten that one in years, and I haven�t missed it.) Then he asked me if I wanted to see "his trick." His trick turned out to be putting the lit end of his cigarette on his tongue and then putting it out on his hand. Those wacky Finlanders.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria