Myra Lee

2003-06-29 - 11:14 a.m.

Oh Jesus God! Mother Mary! Krishna! I�m having a root canal today. I hate going to the dentist, and the last time I went was such trauma. I�ve known I needed this root canal for, well, um, a year? Yes, a year. And I�ve put it off because the last dentist I chose blindly out of the insurance book turned out to be Satan. She was. Satan gave me two crowns.

This morning I went to a new dentist (also chosen blindly from the insurance book, named something like Nhyahamash Skiirknash, drives a snazzy Mitsubishi with a personalized plate that says FLOSSIN), thinking I was just going to get x-rayed and be told, "Yes, you have horrible teeth and you need dentures." Then (I thought) I would just make another appointment in the far off future for the actual procedure(s). But I was told, "This cavity you�ve presented us with is very large and should be taken care of immediately. How�s 1:00?"

I called my mom, and her words of wisdom were, "Whenever I have dental work done, I just say the 23rd Psalm to myself over and over." Wait, isn�t that the "Yea though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death" one?


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria