Myra Lee

2003-06-19 - 8:44 p.m.

Last night I saw Andrew Bird play an instore at my favorite record store, dear ol� Fingerprints. That man is so talented. He was using a Line 6 pedal to record samples of beautiful, melodic violin parts (a la Warren Ellis of Dirty Three). Then he would strum or finger pick new parts over the repeating samples he�d just recorded (a la Joseph Arthur). Seeing him play was inspirational and moving. And he�s one helluva whistler. He had impressive control over his whistling vibrato, and an incredible range. Erik, who prides himself on his whistling prowess, was envious.

Sister Act 2, Back in the Habit is presently on HBO! I�m trying to talk Erik into watching it because�I�m in it. I�m in the choir that competes against Whoopi Goldberg�s ghetto-teens-make-good ensemble at the end. I had to sing the soprano part of Ode to Joy in the audition, and I was ridiculously proud when I made it. Now I want to relive my moment of glory, but the movie is unbearable, arguably the worst movie ever made. Why couldn�t my child film experience be like my friend Janene�s? She was one of the aliens in Close Encounters of the Third Kind when she was ten.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria