Myra Lee

2008-08-27 - 9:40 p.m.

Bits of August:

- There's a great tradition of taking grand tours after taking the bar. Right now, most of my law school friends are in places like Croatia, South Africa, Argentina, the like. I am frugal (and super mad at myself for it right now!), so we went with the free-parental-timeshare-outside-Cancun-trip option. It was free. I hope I don't sound like an ungrateful, whiny baby, but I sure do wish I were on le gran tour right now.

- On our trip to greater Cancun, on our one day of seeing the sights (as opposed to floating down lazy rivers reading the Twilight saga), we wandered around in a touristy place called Playa del Carmen on "the strip" (Fifth Avenue, they call it). Because Erik is bearded (I'm guessing this is why), everyone assumed we wanted drugs. We were badgered (sometimes chased!) by young men crying, "Yayo, Ganga!" We got used to it. Then one especially persistent small drug-peddling boy pleaded, "Come on, Mr. Whisker." Yaaaay! I've taken to saying this when I'm not getting my way.

- A supposedly fun thing I'll never do again. Even if Broken Social Scene plays it again. Actually, especially if Broken Social Scene plays again. It was so incongruous to be watching them and getting shoved by beefcakey drunken fools who only knew that being CLOSER to the stage is BETTER. And there was so much hostility! So much pushing and threatening and general menace. So much beer spilled on me. So strange that the whole affair was founded on the slogan "living in harmony with our neighbors" (i.e., trying to get the old-timers to coexist peacefully with The Gay, who were invading the old-timers' neighborhood and bringing with them the usual problems of good restaurants, fashionable boutiques, beautification of yard/homes, what have you). From my vantage point of hugging a signpost, trying not to lose sight of my friends without getting bruised, there was no coexist. The next day Erik and I went to the Huntington Botanical Gardens (same admission price as Sunset Junction!), and that felt right.

- Today I movie-hopped into The Rocker. New #1 crush: Teddy Geiger. Has there ever been a cuter boy? Ever? Is it wrong that my #1 crush is on a boy who's 12 years and 2 days younger than I am? Is it wrong that I know his birthday because I was on his fansite?


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria