Myra Lee

2008-07-10 - 9:29 p.m.

It's hard to pinpoint the most annoying thing about studying for the bar, but I think I've done it. The CA bar requires you write six essays. Basically, you're given a fact pattern and expected to apply the law to the facts. Normally, you'd think this means the relevant law. But the bar readers like you to also address which law DOES NOT apply. Like, "Alice would be able to recover $7 trillion if the xyz doctrine applied, but because the xyz doctrine does not apply, Alice cannot recover $7 trillion." Now, I ask you, how many clients want to pay $500 per hour to hear about which laws DO NOT apply to their case? Probably not very many. But will I write about inapplicable laws for the bar? Yes, I most certainly will. The idea of having to do this again come February 2009 makes me think very dark thoughts.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria