Myra Lee

2007-09-30 - 5:52 p.m.

I just returned from a bbq at a law professor�s spectacular house in Pasadena. It was a party for the writing department. This professor is the director of the school�s legal writing program. She�s the woman who hired me and gave me the writing teaching job in the first place. Before she went to law school, she was a writer for Rolling St0ne for years. Her favorite band is Wilco, and I run into her at shows all the time. Simply put, she is awesome. It was so strange to be drinking Guinness in her beautiful backyard with panoramic views of downtown in one direction and the mountains in the other, laughing with awesome professor lady and other school friends. Thinking back to where I was two years ago, a freaked-out first-year law school student, completely terrified that I would fail or that maybe it was a mistake to quit my job and go to law school in the first place. I felt like such a small person. And I feel like a totally different person now. I have a job lined up. I�ve done well in school. I�ve pushed myself more than I thought was possible. And as a result, I have more confidence than I�ve ever had in my life. I�m writing this right now because I want to remember this feeling. The feeling of getting out of a rut and actually challenging myself. I have a tendency to find a comfortable spot and set up camp. I don�t want to do that once I transition into lawyer-hood. I want to keep going. There�s really no reason to stop growing at any stage in your life.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria