Myra Lee

2007-05-30 - 10:45 p.m.

Yesterday was my first day as a summer associate at a swanky firm. It was a little weird. It�s normal (in the world of big law firms) to make summer associates feel like royalty (it�s a bait-and-switch�except everyone knows it, so I�m not sure why this song and dance continues). Now there are lunches and happy hours and dinners and outings a plenty. It was surreal to be shown to my super-nice office (my name on the door...like an actual plaque...like they didn't just write it on the door with a Sharpee) and introduced to my secretary. Is the legal field the only one that won�t call them assistants?

I�m not as excited as I should be�mainly, I think, because the girl who is supposed to be my �mentor� isn�t the most pleasant person around. I think she got stuck accepting me as mentee, and the resentment is palpable. Not only can I feel her annoyance if I ask a question (any question), but I also suspect my first �assignment� (I received it at the end of the day yesterday) is something she was originally supposed to do. She already did a lot of research on the case, so it�s obvious that it was her responsibility at some point. But yesterday the case was handed off to me like a rotten half-eaten sandwich. As soon as I started familiarizing myself with the issues, it became clear to me that our client can�t win. What�s more, this is a pro bono case, so I think there�s probably some added pressure to win to make the firm look good. I have no idea. I just think it�s pretty mean-spirited to foist your unwanted sandwich on an brand new junior peon you're supposed to be looking out for.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria