Myra Lee

2007-05-25 - 8:30 p.m.

On Monday, I thought this was going to be a long, lonely week. Erik went out of town for work, and I don�t start my summer job until next week. I was trying to drum up things to do. And suddenly things fell in my lap. First, my pal Valentine called and invited me to her brother�s record release party. Her brother is in a band whose name rhymes with Maroon Hive. This party was insane. There were celebrities everywhere, and I was trying not to be obnoxious, but when I spotted Adam Brody, I got obnoxious. I overtook him and asked if I could take a picture with him�but how could I not? He�s so unbearably cute. Then, throughout the rest of the night, everywhere I went, he was there. This party was mainly in a giant sound stage, but there were other rooms and several bars. Yet somehow, every time I looked up�Brody. Finally, we were standing next to each other and I felt awkward, so I apologized for spazzing out on him, and he was a real dear about it. Ah, Brody. Sweet Brody. The next night I attended the American Idol finale with my severely pregnant sister-in-law. It was another evening of quality people watching. The next night my friends� band played up the street. The week has actually flown by. Still, when Erik goes out of town it becomes clear which one of us thinks to turn on lights. I find myself sitting in the dark wondering what to do.

Today I saw the movie �Once� with my friend Kristine. Oh lord, I loved it. But I didn�t let myself cry. I worried that if I started I wouldn�t be able to stop.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria