Myra Lee

2007-05-18 - 3:58 p.m.

OK, so I know it can�t be all sunshine and rose blossoms forever. The top three things I don�t like about our new place:

1. The old windows. These old windows are individual little glass slats, meaning you can�t have screens, meaning the apartment is full of creatures. The only alternative to creatures is to keep the windows closed and go crazy from the heat. I�m starting to feel like a naturalist collecting specimens. I think I will tack mosquito netting over the windows. Or maybe I should fashion some full-body mosquito-netting suits for us to wear about the homestead. The suits sound well and good, but I am a lousy seamstress, so the resulting garments would probably be unwieldy.

2. The Mexican pirates. They have a pirate radio station that broadcasts with some kind of ridiculously excessive transmitters, and it bleeds through the wires of almost all our electronics. Only at night. They seem to be Mexican preacher pirates. The first week we were here, I got all nutty and ratted them out to the FCC. They were gone for a while, but they�ve been creeping back, and now they�re back to pre-complaint frequencies.

I guess that�s really about it. I thought there were three things, but all the other stuff (no dishwasher, no A/C, walls made of plaster of paris or some such business that makes it difficult to hang things) are things I have become so accustomed to, I wouldn�t know what to do with myself if I lived in a place that was not this way. And really, the presence of a washer/dryer INSIDE our apartment and the fact that there are squirrels all over the backyard more than make up for the house full of insects and the nightly Mexican sermons.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria