Myra Lee

2006-10-05 - 12:06 a.m.

I have destroyed myself scheduling too many interviews with various law firms across the City of Angels. Well, actually all the interviews are in a weird little area called Century City, every last one of them. I really don�t care for this little area. I�m not a West Side kind of gal, and I was hoping I could find a firm downtown that suited me so we could move to Los Feliz or Silverlake. I want trees and hills and dive bars and skuzzy buildings sliding off their foundations! The West Side is way too clean for me, even in my new lawyerly state in which I tote about my one-and-only suit with me at all times, ready to change in my car and lint-roller myself at any moment. I�m like Superman, but lacking any powers or skills whatsoever. Yet it seems I�m going to be working in Century City for a few years. As it turns out, that�s where all the entertainment legal things occur. At least it�s where the stars shop! Me and the stars! Together again.

So when I say destroyed myself, I mean that I caught some sort of truly strange cold. I won�t describe it because I like you. But I�m certain I picked this thing up at a very evil law firm. I learned that this firm was in big trouble for a senior partner�s role in a certain infamous wiret@pping scandal just before I went in there, so it was too late to cancel the interview. Anyway, the place was clearly toxic, as everyone there had this same awful cold. It was such a bummer catching this thing from a place I already knew I didn�t want to work for. Curses!

And speaking of curses, I would like to warn my fellow Virgos out there, because I think there are several: If you have not yet become absorbed with making sure your iTunes library has all the corresponding album artwork�DON�T. Just don�t. There are those who will advise you that the new iTunes 7.0.1. does all the obsessing for you�do not believe. Who fucking cares if the appropriate album artwork pops up in your iTunes? Despite my fussy ways, I vote no on metadata obsessiveness. NO!

p.s. I loved The Science of Sleep.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria