Myra Lee

2006-08-13 - 6:54 p.m.

My poor mom. All she�s ever wanted is a daughter who�s just like her. She will never have that. We just talked on the phone for five minutes, and it went like this:

Mom: What did you do this weekend?

Me: Well, we just saw An Inconvenient Truth.

Mom: What�s that?

Me: It�s that Al Gore movie about global warming. You guys should see i�

Mom: (cutting me off!!!) I think we�ll probably pass on that. We did see World Trade Center, though, did I tell you?

Me: No.

Mom: It was really good. You know, a story of hope.

Me: Yeah. (I considered saying �We�ll probably pass on that,� but I wondered if that would be too sarcastic and mean-sounding, and while I wondered, she charged ahead.)

Mom: And yesterday, we drove up to Simi Valley and visited the Ronald Reagan Library. (So much excitement in her voice!) We got to get our pictures taken with Air Force One, as if we were the president and his wife! Did you know you could�ve had your wedding there?

Me: Oh, well, too bad we missed out on that opportunity! (Totally dripping with sarcasm because I don�t know how else to respond. But she doesn�t catch it, and that�s A-OK because I don�t want to go anywhere near talking politics with her.)

Then there was a little bit of small talk about my stepsister�s upcoming wedding. Then this gem:

Mom: Did I tell you we�re planning a trip to Israel? We�re going on a missions trip with the Gurcios.

Me: No, but do you watch the news?

Mom: We�re hoping to go on the earlier missions trip so that Wayne [my stepdad] will be able to celebrate his 60th birthday in the Holy Land! Wouldn�t that be amazing?


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria