Myra Lee

2006-05-01 - 11:37 p.m.

My grandma, whom I adore, is not doing so hot. She just turned 93. Her eyesight is failing. Her heart is erratic. But her mind is still sharp as a tack. I can�t imagine how frustrated she must be. She can still remember what she wore on her 23rd birthday when she went dancing on Catalina Island and fell in love with my hunky grandpa, Willard. (Phyllis and Willard!) But her body is failing her. She�s been in and out of the hospital recently.

This was part of an e-mail from my mom today. It broke my heart:

Grammy was very anxious to get out of the hospital in time to go to her eye doctor appointment. When asked to sign her name on the form to be released from the hospital, she asked the nurse to show her where the line was, put her finger on it, and proceeded to write her name on the printed text above, going uphill. The same name that was signed on my excuse notes and permission slips for school, the same signature in the same style looked so sad there in the wrong place on the page.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria