Myra Lee

2006-01-24 - 9:09 p.m.

I�m about to explode from rapid yin-yang shifts. Life is bizarre-o as of late.

I came home yesterday afternoon, and Erik was already home. He was laid off. He�d been at his job (a pretty cushy job) for over six years. It was totally sudden. Apparently his department is going the way of the buffalo. He gets some severance, but it still felt like the ground dropped out from under us, since I have no income to speak of, being a full-time student of the law and all. I didn�t sleep a wink last night.

However, because Erik is magic (like Jesus), he was contacted by a certain good company about a certain glorious job. It�s the company that�s all over the news right now for the in-the-works animation merger. I don�t want to jinx it by writing about it here on the Internets (as I am doing right now), but I really hope he gets it! Please, oh please, baby Jesus.

The other yin-ful/yang-ful thing is that I got a hybrid. Yay! It�s a Honda Insight, the smallest car on Earth, the one that looks like a tiny space pod. I love it. It�s awfully small, but it gets 4,000 miles to the gallon and allows me to drive in the carpool lane all by my lonesome with my fancypants access stickers. It�s so small that I sorta feel like I�m riding a tricycle on the freeway, but that�s OK.

The unfortunate part of this tale is that the car dealership offered me an unspeakably sad amount for my old car (that beastly Saab), so I decided I could sell it to a private party. That has been a rocky road, since the Saab is prone to sucking. No one in their right mind would buy it. I thought I had a buyer lined up, but then the buyer came to his senses and backed out.

However, today the most crazy people on Earth called me up and bought the car! Thank you, crazy people!

So, it�s definitely too soon to crack open champagne, but I think this rollercoaster is going to have a happy conclusion. I have the highest of hopes that we will soon be drunk on a new rollercoaster.

p.s. I promise to be a better diarylander.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria