Myra Lee

2005-11-04 - 8:23 p.m.

I talked to both my mom and my dad today. They couldn�t really be more different. Here�s a snapshot:

Conversation with my dad: He asked, �Have you heard about Jimmy Carter�s new book? We saw him on Larry King the other night and boy, what a sweet, sweet man. And boy, this monkey in the white house sure has fucked up our country.�

Conversation with my mom: She asked, �Have you been watching The Amy Grant Show on Friday nights? Gosh, it�s great! It really nourishes my spirit after a week of warfare.�*

How were they ever married?

When I told Erik that my mom had asked me if I watch The Amy Grant Show, he said, �She really doesn�t pay attention.�

* About the warfare: I�m not sure what that was about. It�s likely one of these two things:
1. She�s a high-school librarian, and that job can resemble mortal combat.
2. She�s a fundamentalist Christian, and those folks are kooky for battle analogies.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria